Media Contact: Lori LaDu

April 6, 2002


In The Food & Beverage Industries

New York, NY –
In typical “who’s who,” stylish New York City tradition, the Fred Tibbitts 2002 Hospitality Awards for Excellence were announced on Thursday evening, April 4, to invited friends, guests, dignitaries, and sponsors at the landmark “Union League Club,” in New York City.  The Awards will be presented at the Union League Club on Tuesday 12 November during the New York International Hotel & Restaurant Show

The Sixth Annual Fred Tibbitts & Associates “Spring Evening in New York with Very, Very Special Friends,” black-tie dinner honored the following:

·         Literary Award for Excellence – Roger J. Friedman, president of Lebhar-Friedman, Inc. (National Restaurant News)

·         Supplier Award for Excellence – Ken Ruff, vice president of national accounts (Future Brands LLC)

·         Hospitality Award for Excellence – Gerard Van Grinsven, vice president of operations / pre-opening (The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company)

Quoting Tibbitts, “These three recipients define excellence; that is, ladies and gentlemen servicing ladies and gentlemen. As a result of these awards and in their honor, there will be three scholarships given to hospitality students at Johnson and Wales University.”

Commenting on his upcoming Award, Gerard Van Grinsven, who is responsible for opening 20 Ritz Carltons in the last five years, humbly confided, “The past is the past, and you can’t control the future. Control today and listen to the customer, who knows what’s best for us. I don’t deserve this award; my people do. And, behind every man there’s a magnificent woman. Without my staff and family, I wouldn’t be here. This really belongs to them.”

#  #  #